PDA

View Full Version : How can i avoid NY car insurance?

WinStreak
September 6th, 2006, 01:52 PM
If i am moving from Texas to NY but still have parents in Texas....can i avoid NY car insurace prices by just leaving my current car insurance provider? I will be living in NY but renting from a cousin. I figure I could just keep my insurance as is since my parents have all our car insurance together and i could just pay them my share. Is this even legal?

Schadenfrau
September 6th, 2006, 01:57 PM
Where will you be living?

WinStreak
September 6th, 2006, 02:41 PM
well im a consultant so technically ill be all over the place. i'll be renting from relatives in Queens so i guess my mail will be sent there. the company is located in Oregon and there are no other offices besides the one in Oregon so im thinking if i do a direct deposit to my bank in texas then i would be ok.

ryan
September 6th, 2006, 08:55 PM
I used my parent's upstate address for a while with no problem, though it is illegal (insurance fraud) and you might run into trouble if you ever filed a claim. I got a lot of quotes and found that Geico only charges $50 more a year for me. Insurance rates have a lot to do with your car (as quotes for hondas are quite scary), so shop around. I don't think it's worth it.

I've heard of people with out-of-state plates getting tickets - you will have the same meter maid checking your street a couple times a week...

lofter1
September 6th, 2006, 09:24 PM
techinically you've got x-number of months (not sure the exact number) to switch to your legal residential address once you relocate to NYC --

Insurance companies look at it the same way as the IRS -- each person has only ONE primary residency.

ryan
September 6th, 2006, 09:31 PM
I want to say it's 60 days per the NYS DMV. (but google knows better than I.)

WinStreak
September 6th, 2006, 09:45 PM