PDA

View Full Version : College graduate looking for employment...whats the best way to get hired?

fs83
September 12th, 2006, 12:50 AM
Hey folks, Im new to the wonderful forum here. I have a general question concerning the newer college grads who have just entered or are trying to enter the work force.

I recently have found it very difficult to even get an appointment with a single temp agency in the city. Besides the usual routes such as monster.com or visiting/applying to a temp agency, what are other ways one can get an interview and perhaps employment quickly today? Preferably Im looking into business-related work such as marketing or management related work.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you :D

ravishinglylow
September 12th, 2006, 09:01 AM
Agency-wise, I have dealt with Spherion here in Chicago. My understanding is that they have about 5 locations in Manhattan. Give them a try!

http://www.spherion.com

Good luck!

Xemu
September 12th, 2006, 10:13 AM
My advice is to think of any connections you, your parents, your parents friends or your parents friends friends might have in the industry you're interested in and work them as hard as you can. Don't be ashamed to call up people you've never meet ask for help. I know very few people who got their first job in the city without some sort of connections.

shocka
September 15th, 2006, 03:13 PM
My advice to anyone looking for a job in NYC..

Make a list of at least 20 companies you would like to work for that have offices in NYC.

Go to each companies website and look at their career listings, to see if you they have anything that may be of interest to you.

See if you have any contacts in the companies that have positions of interest.