PDA

View Full Version : Job search

okenzo
October 24th, 2006, 03:13 PM
Hello,

I'm a nigerian and planning to relocate to NY by february or march, I want to know how long it will take me to get a job when i arrive, will also like to know what it will cost me to rent an apartment for three i.e me, my wife and daughter.

I have a higer national diploma in mechanical engineering and have worked as a customer care executive for 3 years. So will it be easies getting a Job as technical operator/technician or a customer care/call center executive.

How long does it take to get the social security number and every other papers i require to get a Job.

thanks.

ManhattanKnight
October 24th, 2006, 03:55 PM
With only a few exceptions, US law does not permit a Nigerian national to come to this country for the purpose of seeking employment. You'll find all the information you need on that subject HERE (http://abuja.usembassy.gov/), under "VISAS."

NYC244
October 24th, 2006, 09:41 PM
well,weird because it's re. somoene else's weird situation.
so here we go;
if a person comes to ny,as a tourist(with just a tourist visa)and decide to stay illegaly in the city-what would happen? i mean as far as job,apartmant,i mean anything at all? what kind of life can she/he expect?
a lots of us told her already that this isn't very good idea,but i want your honest opinion..because most of you are from either ny or at least us citizens.i sent her to this forum,maybe she'll see this thread and understand!

New Yorker 06
October 24th, 2006, 09:57 PM
If I found out about an illegal, I'd report them immediatly. Do it the right way, or stay out.

well,weird because it's re. somoene else's weird situation.
so here we go;
if a person comes to ny,as a tourist(with just a tourist visa)and decide to stay illegaly in the city-what would happen? i mean as far as job,apartmant,i mean anything at all? what kind of life can she/he expect?