PDA

View Full Version : Cars that parallel park themselves

meer
October 30th, 2006, 01:31 PM
Lexus came out with a car that will parallel park for you.

What do you think... Great thing for city-dwellers? Another excuse for people to be lazy drivers? Somewhere in between?

ablarc
October 30th, 2006, 01:35 PM
Great thing for city-dwellers? Another excuse for people to be lazy drivers?
Both.

As a lazy driver, I also like power steering, cruise control and electric windows.

antinimby
October 30th, 2006, 02:27 PM
I'm not so sure that it can literally park itself.

I think the car will dumb-proof a lot of the tasks but the driver do have to do certain things as well.

Ninjahedge
October 30th, 2006, 03:01 PM
It can. The only thing it says is that you need to man the brakes.

I saw it in development on a cable news proggie about 2 years ago. Pretty neet idea!

It does not look like it would be able to handle a true NYC "parking by braile" kind of situation, but it is good none the less.

I am just anxious for long-trip autopilot. Something where they set up an automated system with lane demarcations and stuff for long interstate travel. Something that would be able to get everyone up to faster speeds (say 85) and still keep the distance if there was an accident (tire blowout, etc). It would allow people to pull on the freeway and then just swivel or recline their chair to read or watch TV, etc etc.....

It would not work on smaller roads and highways, but think of how much easier it would be for those long trips!

daver
October 30th, 2006, 04:04 PM
I'm not so sure that it can literally park itself.

I think the car will dumb-proof a lot of the tasks but the driver do have to do certain things as well.
The thing literally parks itself.