PDA

View Full Version : Any experiences using a BBQ grill in NYC?

Front_Porch
November 3rd, 2006, 03:43 PM
Specifically, Manhattan?

I'm a real estate agent and one of my clients wants to be able to grill on his new terrace . . . has anyone done this?

I spoke to a lawyer who told me the use and transport of propane tanks is illegal in NYC, but I think charcoal grills might be okay. FDNY just says go ten feet from the building and be near a water source.

Obviously, I'll have to check with each individual building's board but any anecdotes about buildings that allow grills will strengthen my hand.

TIA
ali r.
{downtown agent}

ZippyTheChimp
November 3rd, 2006, 04:03 PM
Propane is out.

Balconies are not large enough to meet code.

A terrace has to be large enough so that the grill is 10 feet from any combustible material. I don't know if there is a requirement for how far from the edge of an elevated terrace the grill must be.

NY Times archives:

Rules on Outdoor Cooking Question: I live in a new condominium building and we do not yet have rules concerning outdoor grilling. Some of the residents want to use terraces or patios for cooking. Are there any fire codes or air-quality rules in New York City that ban the use of gas, charcoal or electric grills? . . . Andrew Ertman, Manhattan.

Answer: Yes. Although smoke emitted from family-sized barbecue equipment is specifically excluded from the Department of Environmental Protection's air-quality rules, which regulate other types of smoke emissions, the Fire Department's rules for outdoor cooking make the use of charcoal, electric or gas grills on most apartment building balconies illegal.