PDA

View Full Version : A new subway line on the Riverside Drive?

mcmug_emak
November 16th, 2006, 05:12 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm a student from Parsons and we are currently working on a proposal to build a new subway line on the Upper West side along the Riverside Drive. We need your help to gather information and different opinion of the proposal. Please help, any suggestion or opposition would be greatly appreciated.

Our goal:

To build a train tracks above ground or underground along the Riverside Drive to bring more people to the Riverside Park which has a beautiful view of the Hudson River and to meet the need of more transportation on the Riverside where many apartments and condos are currently undergoing construction. It is assumed that the new coming population will over crowd the existing subway lines which are the 1, 2, 3 on Broadway and A, C, B, D on CPW.

Ideal Train path:

It will start from Columbus Circle go West on 59th St until West End Ave and then it will turn North on West End Ave and continue on the Riverside Drive 72nd St and up.

Ideal Stations: (Uptown)

Columbus Circle
59th St & 10 Ave
West End Ave & 65th St
72nd St & Riverside Drive
79th St & Riverside Drive
89th St & Riverside Drive
92nd St & Riverside Drive
103rd St & Riverside Drive
112nd St & Riverside Drive

& More until the end of the Riverside Park.

Issues that will be concern:

v Noise of the existing trains (we would like to use new and different kinds of trains if the cost is reasonable)
v Will the community use the subway line to gain access of the Riverside Park.

& many more that you could bring out!!

And also will anyone knows any contact information of the Upper West side community board that would be helpful also.

Thank You Very Much!!

MrSpice
November 16th, 2006, 05:17 PM
I think you proposal is likely to be implemented by robots around 2120 or later. None of us here will live long ebough to see it happen.

lofter1
November 16th, 2006, 06:57 PM