PDA

View Full Version : Emigrating from the UK to the US

Dougc
February 12th, 2007, 04:13 PM
Hi guys. I stumbled upon this place while searching for information on New York. Certainly a pretty interesting site & forums, makes for an interesting read. So, Hi! :)

I guess I'd better give a bit of a background about myself before I leap into asking questions! I'm almost 23 years old & have been working as a software engineer/developer for a reputable & established company here in the UK for nearly 4 years now. I have a BSc (HONS) degree in Computing & consider myself to be more than competent at my job, which I enjoy.

While I currently live comfortably in the UK, I'm quite seriously considering emigrating to the US - more specifically, New York - just because I want a complete change in my life in general, a "fresh start", so to speak. The problem is that I'm a little bit lost on where to even start about researching the whole thing!

The main issues I'm currently thinking I'd have to investigate are the following:
Finding somewhere to live
Finding a job
Anything associated with emigrating (legality wise, greencards etc.)I'm sure I've probably missed something fairly major from that list, so please feel free to correct me if I have.

Questions wise, there's probably far too many for me to bore you all with, but the main ones I'll ask first are the following:
Does anyone think it'd actually be possible (or sensible) to attempt "the move" before actually having secured a job? I'd consider myself marketable in my field in the UK, but would I be as marketable in the US? Can anyone see a reason(s) why a company wouldn't hire someone from the UK?
I guess this one is kind of linked to the above, but, are my educational qualifications (e.g. degree) and work experience in the UK valid to US companies?