PDA

View Full Version : Getting Radio and DJ work in NY?

ed84g
October 3rd, 2007, 06:36 AM
Hi,
im from australia and im just finishing up a degree in international business and marketing however i work as a dj and on air presentor at a popular metro radio station here.

im looking at moving to NY after i finish uni at the end of the year and am looking to set up a job before i move. i would love to pursue radio work which i can suppliment with DJing. im just wondering if anybody has any contacts within the radio industry that can set me off with a good place to start since i have no idea?! ive been on air for 5 years now including 3 of those fronting a popular breakfast show and im professional at production, scheduling, creating ads and many other aspects of running a station. im also not just your typical presentor... im young, i actually have talent, im exciting and i think outside the box (trust me, there are few who are like that in australia!!) so im sure if i can get a chance to be taken seriously i can make something of it its just getting those initial contacts thats hard.

honestly i think gaining any kind of radio employment in ny is a long shot so if i cant get any radio work im looking at using my degree to work in marketing and advertising... whichever way i go i just wanna move!!!

any help anybody can give would be greatly appreciated =)

thans

kyle
October 4th, 2007, 01:54 PM
Sirius is based out of New York and they have positions open..maybe not exactly what you want, but once you're in, you can work yourself in a position that suits you better.

Go to Sirius.com and at the bottom, there's a careers section. Click on that and search away.

Also, WBLI is looking for a morning show producer. It's in Suffolk Count, LI, but near the city. It's a Top 40 music station, but you never know where it can lead. I found the ad on allaccess.com, a good source for radio jobs.

Creative Producer Gig For LI's Hottest Morning Show