PDA

View Full Version : Internship and finding an apartment in Queens

Louise
April 28th, 2008, 11:42 PM
Hi all. I am a foreign student, graduating this May (MA) from a southern state, and would be starting an internship in Queens by June. I would be receiving $33k during my one year internship and would like to find an apartment close to where I'd be working (Union Tpike/Kew Gardens stop). My concerns are:

1. safety
2. accessibility to the E or F train
3. budget (how much of my salary should go towards renting a studio/1 bedrm apartment?)
4. nearby laundry and grocery store

I don't know how much of the $33k would go into taxes, since I would be paying non-resident's tax.

I also prefer to live alone (no strangers as roommates). But a friend would be staying with me until she settles where she'd be employed (whether in DC or NY.) Would a studio/1 bedroom apartment's rate increase if there are 2 people sharing it? If my friend would be working in NY, we would want to look for a bigger apartment to share.

My questions are:
1. Which area in Queens would you suggest that I look an apartment in?
2. Since I am on scholarship/assistantship as a student, I really have no income, but received a stipend. Would my stipend history suffice or should I ask a written offer of employment from the company I would be working for? (I do plan to have a cousin, living and working in NY to sign as a guarantor.)
3. How much of my salary do you think I should allot for rent and utilities?
4. Would having my friend stay with me in a studio/1bedroom apartment increase the rent?
5. Do you think I would be able to find a 3 or 6month rental? (So my friend and I wouldn't be tied to a small studio or 1 bedroom apartment, if she ends up having work in NY.)

I would really appreciate your help/insights. :confused:

Thank you!

antinimby
May 1st, 2008, 10:08 PM