PDA

View Full Version : Affordable housing in Manhattan

asdflkijd
June 2nd, 2008, 06:38 PM
Is this even possible? I am a future NYIT Architecture student and am in the process of looking for a place to stay for the year or more...

So far, I have had zero luck, either the ad is a fraud wanting $500 security deposit for the keys so that he can send them from Southern Africa.. :confused: or the location is just too far (flushing, ny. Fort Lee, NJ..)

The school is @ Columbus Circle, so I don't want to have to commute more than 40mins, and I suppose since I am a poor college student, cheaper would be better, but to give you an guestimation, I'd say around 1300 for rent (I know this may or may not be possible within my price range but plz do offer other suggestions)..

Can anyone help this poor soul? Some advice on studio/apt hunting, available rentals, or even some encouragement would make my day.....

Front_Porch
June 2nd, 2008, 07:16 PM
You are a "poor student" trying to have the commute of a rich person. If you will stretch your commuting time by another 20 minutes each way you will find the choices get significantly better.

ali r.
{downtown broker}

asdflkijd
June 2nd, 2008, 07:38 PM
You are a "poor student" trying to have the commute of a rich person. If you will stretch your commuting time by another 20 minutes each way you will find the choices get significantly better.

ali r.
{downtown broker}

Are you talking about Brooklyn? What about the Upper East? :confused: I'd prefer to stay in Manhattan, but I guess I can commute... I'm guessing the most I'd want to pay is 1,700. but 1,300 being the g-spot. :D Thanks for the advice though! I noticed that you are the "local Broker", how much do you charge? 15%? Do you have any listings available in the Manhattan Area that wouldn't cost me an arm and leg?

MikeW
June 3rd, 2008, 11:00 AM
http://www.cheesebuerger.de/images/smilie/froehlich/c040.gif

Schadenfrau
June 3rd, 2008, 02:40 PM