PDA

View Full Version : Are we being realistic??

NYC_2011
October 21st, 2008, 07:20 PM
My wife & I plan on moving to New York City in about 2-3 years hopefully. This will not be our first time living in a "city" so we have an idea of what to expect and yes living in Manhattan has always been our dream. We would love to live in London, England but financially we don't think that could happen, not to say that Manhattan is inexpensive but at least attainable (?).

I have a bachelor in business and work for a large investment firm here in the Phoenix area. My passion has always been to work in the airline industry so I am currently trying to pursue that with US Airways since their headquarters are located out here. My wife tells me to stay on the financial investment side of things since that would make my job search easier than if I were to be coming from an airline background. Don't many airlines have their corporate offices in Manhattan anyways?

She is a Human Resources Generalist and has 5+ years of experience with healthcare and aerospace companies. She plans on changing career paths and pursuing her lifelong passion of hospitality whether it still be in human resources or not. Restaurant manager, event planner, or even corporate roles are her goals in hospitality. By the time we move she should have about 2+ years of experience if she gets a job with a hotel out here in the next few months.

We don't have any kids but plan on having 2 kids in the next 3 years hopefully. I would assume we should make more than 100K+ on combined salaries.

Example: Combined salaries of roughly 120K - 22% taxes= $93,600

Annual figures:

Rent - 30K ($2500/Mo is the average of what I have been seeing on craigslist for areas such as Chelsea, Grammercy Park & SoHo areas for 2 bedrooms)
12K per year on Utilities & apartment expenses such as cable, phone bills, etcs...
24K per year on spending money (that's $500 per week)