PDA

View Full Version : Moving to NY

JackiSG
January 21st, 2009, 01:12 PM
Hello,

I am moving to NY (with my family) to attend the French Culinary Institute (Fall of 2009). I need a 2 bedroom apartment, and can aford upto $2,250 a month. I am open to traveling upto 25 mins to school. I have no knowledge of NYC, or the surrounding areas. Which is where I need everyones help. What areas should I look into?

Thanks so much in advance! :)

JackiSG
January 22nd, 2009, 02:07 PM
I have been doing some research, but not sure how the areas are. Can you please give me some info if you know these particular areas. Thanks!

Maspeth

Williamsburg

Astoria

Bushwick

Sunset Park

Hoboken

Morningside

upper East Side

I came across rent.com and found some apartments, but not sure how they are or the area. Avalon Lyndhurst Apartments Lyndhurst NJ, Pacific Court apartments Jersey City NJ, The Landing at Port Imperial West New York NJ, Franklin Towers Bloomfield NJ. Anyone have info on them?

BrooklynRider
January 24th, 2009, 01:59 AM
You'll be wanting to catch the following subways:

R, W, Q, N, 6

I don't know much about Jersey, but I'm sure someone will chime in with info.

I live in Park Slope, Brooklyn. It is north of Sunset Park.

Maspeth
Maspeth is a decent working class neighborhood.

Williamsburg
Trendy neighborhood. It's still viewed as a artist/hipster/twenty-something neighborhood, although new developments are pushing the artists into cheaper Bushwick. There are great restaurants and nightlife. I'm not sure how strong the schools will be. Newer residents are urban professionals and young couples who decided to move out of Manhattan to have kids.

Astoria
Queens version of Williamsburgand although I'd say it is more stable neighborhood. There are pockets of public housing by the Queensboro Bridge. This is a good place to live, but your commute will be longer.

Bushwick