PDA

View Full Version : Dissing the Soldiers

paulierules
March 26th, 2009, 10:52 AM
Something's been really getting to me over the past few days. I was browsing YouTube and came across some "Westboro Baptist Church" videos. They're a bunch of nutcases who go around the country protesting funerals of fallen troops who were killed in Iraq and Afghanistan. They hold up signs that say "Thank God for Dead Soldiers" and "Pray for more Dead Soldiers" and "Thank God for 9/11." They literally go to the soldiers funeral processions, stand on the side of the road where the procession takes place, and hold the picket signs up for the family of the fallen to see and the whole town to see. It's funny how they'll use their right to do what the troops died for and then go and picket their funerals. The police here have to protect them, which I'm assuming is hard for a police officer to do because if I was a cop I'd gladly beat them.

Anyway, seems like Americans today take everything for granted... How you can sit in your warm home on Christmas Eve listening to "Silent Night" on the radio while some guys are out putting their lives on the line so that you can spend Christmas and Thanksgiving with your family.

I think every American should be forced to watch this video... Maybe it'll wake some people up...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wCQg2teFNc

Fabrizio
March 26th, 2009, 11:04 AM
That schmaltzy video is exploitive in it's own way too.

If anything it further underlines what a stupid war this is.

paulierules
March 26th, 2009, 11:10 AM
That schmaltzy video is exploitive in it's own way too.

If anything it further underlines what a stupid war this is.

Excuse me for going off topic here, but why is it a stupid war? Before you type up an essay on the matter, PM it to me. This thread isn't meant for political discussions.

Fabrizio
March 26th, 2009, 11:14 AM
Iis this is the first time you've heard someone say it's a stupid war?

ZippyTheChimp
March 26th, 2009, 11:15 AM