PDA

View Full Version : U.S. is a joke - homeland security out of control

Qtrainat1251
September 2nd, 2003, 01:32 AM
I am an amatuer photographer. I have been questioned, and chased away from buildings, but some
others who are railfans taking photos in the NYC subway have been given TICKETS for taking photos. Cops say its due to homeland security. The worst experience I ever had was taking photographs outside a mall in West Nyack,NY. I saw a cop car and put my camera away. The cop then got out of his car and started walking towards me asking what I had in my hand. I felt like saying none of his business (because it really is none of his business). But I said it was a camera and I was a tourist taking photos of the area. Then the cop asked me for ID, I gave him my college ID since I dont have a driver license and he radioed it in to make sure I wasn't "wanted". Everything was OK and he let me go, but lemme tell you that was SCARY. Something like that belongs in the former Soviet Union, not the US.
And now I hear maps of rail systems, power systems,etc is being put under tight lock and key. This is PUBLIC information! I guess they think terrorists are blind, just because they cant get a map. After all, we are in a new age "of McCarthy-ism", instead of the much feared "enemy" being Communists, its Terrorists. Cant walk into a building because you "might be a terrorist". Cant take photos anywhere because "you might be a terrorist". This country aint no fun anymore. Its starting to sound more and more like the USSR.
And this is what the "terrorists" wanted, they want us to live in fear constantly worrying about "when they will strike".
So I have these so called "unusual interests" of railroads, malls, skyscrapers, and power lines. I guess that makes me a terrorist, right?
I never seen so many personal rights violations as whats going on lately. People better wake up and start realizing what's going on, because if they dont soon, we might as well kiss democracy goodbye.