PDA

View Full Version : "I was Walking in NYC and......."

wegotmilk
February 7th, 2005, 06:31 PM
I'm a graduate student doing a school project on peoples experiences when walking in NYC.
Have you had a remarkable experience? Got any pet peeves?
What is proper etiquette for walking in the big apple?
Tell me about! The highs the lows the pinnacles and puddles!
Stories or feedback would be much appreciated.
thanks

Schadenfrau
February 8th, 2005, 12:23 PM
My biggest pet peeve is when people insist upon walking two or three abreast and block the sidewalk for anyone who would like to pass.

Walk quickly and to the right. If you need to stop, step to the side. Tourists, I am speaking to you.

wegotmilk
February 8th, 2005, 12:54 PM
Thanks for the reply and the input! I hope more people will respond.

TLOZ Link5
February 8th, 2005, 12:58 PM
It's not so much the blocking the sidewalk that annoys me, but when really unaware people walk really d*mn slowly on crowded streets. It just reminds me of a Dilbert comic strip when he's trying to get the attention of these two "oblivious slow-walking women" who are blocking the hallway.

"Time stands still as I prepare to take my next step."

NYatKNIGHT
February 8th, 2005, 01:45 PM
Unaware and oblivious are good words. They drift from side to side as though they are the only ones on the sidewalk.
You mentioned the puddles - they are no doubt a nuissance, but like the garbage, the pigeons, dog crap, spit, gum and other obstacles, they become subconciously avoided without barely noticing.

However, there is much more to the sidewalks of New York that completely outshine the downsides. All the different people with their antics, art, pets, style and lack thereof, can be truly entertaining.

NewYorkYankee
February 8th, 2005, 02:37 PM
One of my favorite things to do in New York is to just walk and around and take in the sights and sounds of the city.

fioco
February 8th, 2005, 05:21 PM