PDA

View Full Version : thinking about moving to new york

jamess
February 20th, 2005, 12:36 PM
hi folks,

i'm vaguely considering moving to new york in the future for a year or so. was just wondering where is an interesting place to live with not too crazy rents.

cheers,

james.

jamess
February 20th, 2005, 02:32 PM
*kicks tin can against forum wall*

*whistles*

NewYorkYankee
February 20th, 2005, 03:29 PM
Brooklyn would be fun for you. Where are you from now?

ASchwarz
February 20th, 2005, 04:13 PM
hi folks,

i'm vaguely considering moving to new york in the future for a year or so. was just wondering where is an interesting place to live with not too crazy rents.

cheers,

james.

Consider Brooklyn, Upper Manhattan or Queens.

http://newyork.craigslist.org/about/apts.html

Define "not too crazy rents" and tell us if you plan on living alone or with roommates.

jamess
February 21st, 2005, 07:05 AM
Hi,

I'm currently in Vienna, Austria. I'm a software engineer but I wouldn't be going to work my ass off all day at some highly paid job but rather enough to live and learn a bit about the city. It'd be me and my girlfriend so I guess a better question would be what's a reasonable cost of living for a couple in an interesting part of town. Doesn't have to be a fantastic apartment of course just in a good location and not a health hazzard :)

cheers,

James.

NoyokA
February 21st, 2005, 03:29 PM
Take a look at Manhattan Valley:

http://www.newyorkmetro.com/nymetro/realestate/columns/realestate/11144/

jamess
February 22nd, 2005, 04:52 AM
thanks!

ksusha21
February 23rd, 2005, 01:44 PM
Try Staten Island. Staten Island is a nice quiet place and is not so expensive! I live in Staten Island and love it. You can get to manhattan on the ferry in staten island!and brooklyn's right over the verrazano bridge!

Zouzzi
February 23rd, 2005, 07:48 PM