PDA

View Full Version : Hover Information Box



Bowbridge
August 4th, 2005, 10:37 AM
Is there any way to get rid of the text boxes that pop up when I put the mouse over an item? Do navigate the pages, I have to move the mouse around and the boxes pop up like weeds. Man, these things are annoying, worse then cell phones.

Edward
August 4th, 2005, 05:40 PM
The yellow help tags are function of the browser and not of website software.

Ninjahedge
August 5th, 2005, 09:17 AM
It is a part, somehow....


What is the function that associates a large tag with the post names? Other forum software does not give you the synopsis or beginning of the first post when you mouse-over it, but this one does.

The baloon itself is a function of the browser, and I believe you can get rid of that in "options", but what makes vBukketin so different that yo uget the large help-tags to come up instead of the small ones? What is putting all that information into the link?

Ninjahedge
August 5th, 2005, 09:21 AM
Looking at the source code for the web page it comes out like this:


</tr>
<!-- END TEMPLATE: threadbit -->
<!-- <tr><td class="thead" colspan="6">&nbsp;</td></tr>-->

<!-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: threadbit -->
<tr>
<td class="alt1"><img src="images/statusicon/thread_new.gif" alt="" border="" /></td>

<td class="alt2"><img src="images/icons/icon1.gif" alt="" border="0" /></td>

<td class="alt1Active" id="t6904" title="Is there any way to get rid of the text boxes that pop up when I put the mouse over an item? Do navigate the pages, I have to move the mouse around and the boxes pop up like weeds. Man, these things are annoying, worse then cell phones.">

<div>

The part that he is talking about is the "<td=class="alt1Active" id="t6904" title="Is there any way....." "

This is the big popup box that comes up when you scroll over the thread....


I guess there is no way to personalize that on your own machine... I don't see where that could be easy besides turning them all off.....

Edward
August 5th, 2005, 10:17 AM
Again, the only way to change this behaviour is either change the settings of your browser or use a different browser.

Ninjahedge
August 5th, 2005, 01:42 PM
Ed, I know the way to do it from this end, don't take it personally (you seem to be getting a little annoyed there).

My question would be more along the line of asking if there was any way to make it so that the forum software itself did not generate such large tags for new threads...


I know there is (in all probability) no real way to change it for a thread that is already there, but whatever.

I find the boxes a bit excessive as well, but I use them soetimes for other things and there does not seem to be a way to set them for one website in particular.......


It does not matter enough to me either way, I was just trying to shed some light on the situation for all parties... ;)

Edward
August 5th, 2005, 02:19 PM
You can make a suggestion to vbulletin folks.

Merry
August 9th, 2005, 09:34 AM
Wny is it, for example, that the Skyscrapercity.com forum uses the same version of vBulletin (3.0.7) and yet no tooltips appear when mousing over thread titles?

Example from Skyscrapercity.com:

<td class="alt1Active" id="t243546" title="">

Please excuse my novice status, but perhaps the stylesheet can be customised? Surely not a browser option? Can't find anything in IE6.

Only a suggestion, just interested to learn.

Ninjahedge
August 9th, 2005, 11:27 AM
Where is Pippin?

ZippyTheChimp
August 9th, 2005, 05:54 PM
I think you guys are pushing Edward's buttons.

Use Firefox. Only one line of text.

Ninjahedge
August 10th, 2005, 09:56 AM
I think you guys are pushing Edward's buttons.

I was a-Frodo that.