PDA

View Full Version : Need help with hotel and tour

Alexa
September 11th, 2005, 10:17 PM
I am coming to New York for a week in October and have several questions. Any help or opinions would be so appreciated!

1. We booked a room at the 414 Inn on 46th. street, only 2 blocks from Time Square. Has anyone here heard of this hotel and is it a nice one? All of the reviews I have read on it range from really positive to simply *Okay*.

2. Does anyone have an opinion of the tours one can take? I am looking at the Grayline tours. www.graylinenewyork.com (http://www.graylinenewyork.com/) These are hop on/hop off tours on a double decker bus. Is this a good way to get an overall look at each section of the city?

3.I was also told I should take a stroll through Balducci's Market. Any opinions on that would be welcome, also.

4.I am really into the culture of a place, so I want to get a feel for every day life there, and as a real estate broker I am very much into architecture, so I want to see all of the neighborhoods like Chelsea, Soho, Chinatown, etc. The New York Guide book I have suggests several tour companies and it mentions a group of New Yorkers who volunteer to give free neighborhood tours. Their website is www.bigapplegreeter.org (http://www.bigapplegreeter.org/) Has anyone heard of these tours or know if this is worthwhile?

5. What can I expect to pay for lunch and dinner there? We are talking moderately priced meals..... Lunch for me would be a light meal. I want to try a slice of pizza and a vender hot dog, but other than that I am someone who works out a lot so I tend to eat small, healthy meals. In the evenings we will want a nice dinner, but going to elaborate and expensive restaurants is not a big deal to us. We would rather spend our money on entertainment and seeing the city.

6. I have tickets to Rent and Spamalot. Are those good choices?