PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to adopt a Kitten

micegrey
October 3rd, 2005, 02:26 AM
Hi, I am a photographer residing in Chelsea and looking for a kitten to adopt. I have been a caring pet lover all my life. Any idea or news is welcome.

Thanks.

mice grey
www.photoblog.be/micegrey (http://www.photoblog.be/micegrey)

ManhattanKnight
October 3rd, 2005, 08:54 AM
Hi, I am a photographer residing in Chelsea and looking for a kitten to adopt. I have been a caring pet lover all my life. Any idea or news is welcome.

The Center for Animal Care and Control, with offices in all 5 boros, is the City's quasi-official animal control agency. While it aspires one day to become a non-kill shelter, it continues to kill tens of thousands of animals every year because of lack of space and funds. It's a great place from which to adopt a cat and, by doing so, to save a life. http://www.nycacc.org/site/c.ikLTJ9MUKtH/b.540513/k.CB5A/Home/apps/s/inline.asp

A good private, non-kill shelter and adoption agency is Bide-a-Wee. http://www.bideawee.org/

I have adopted cats from both these shelters.

Since you're in Chelsea, you might want to wander over to West Chelsea Veterinary Hospital, 203 10th Ave. at 22nd St. (212-645-2757), my cats' docs, which always has several cats awaiting adoption on view in its waiting room and adoption notices posted on its bulletin board.

Punzie
December 22nd, 2006, 07:13 PM
Pets are my area of expertise. I hope that Micegrey has found his purrfect feline; I have advice to anyone who is considering owning one.

Until roughly the 1980s, all domestic cats were pretty much the same size, males slightly larger than females. Not any more! For better or worse, cat breeders have created breeds that range from the 3-pound teacup to the 20-pound Maine Coon.

If you happen to have a small apartment, you probably don't want to own a very large domestic cat -- and the cat may not be too happy with such limited space.