PDA

View Full Version : Cost of living in NYC/NJ

LonelyRoad
January 6th, 2006, 01:50 AM
Hello all,

I am a sophmore in college and I want to move to NYC when I graduate. I am a musician and plan on teaching while getting into the music sceen.

My question is what is the cheapest one can rent an apartment in NYC or NJ (Jersey City)? I have researched on apartments.com and found mostly rates around $1500. I would only need a studio or 1 bedroom. As a musician I have a lot of stuff (full size keyboard, guitars etc.) but I would have to make a small space work (500 sq ft. idealy 700).

I guess I would want the biggest bang for the buck as opposed to just the cheapest (I am curious about that though). I want to be in a safe neighborhood.

I just visited NYC for the first time in September and I can't wait to go back (was there WAY to short). As a musician my only real options are LA or NY (not country so can't do Nashville). I really love NY and I love the east coast. The fact the Boston, Philly and D.C. are so close is really apealing as well (went to school in Boston for two semesters).

Thanks in advanced. I've been reading this board for the past week since I came across it and it seems great!

LonelyRoad

MrSpice
January 6th, 2006, 11:03 AM