PDA

View Full Version : NYC Subway for Visitors

GINGER
January 22nd, 2006, 04:53 AM
Asking people who use the subway regularly,seems the logical thing to do so here goes.
I've used the London underground regular and find it so easy but looking at maps of the New York subway it looks much more difficult,as a novice what do you basically look for?Do you look for your destination and then work your way back?Are the subways clearly sign posted when you get underground?Are the destinations on the front of the trains?Is the subway safe late evening early morning?Any info would be great!!
Thanks in anticipation.
A complete novice.

stache
January 22nd, 2006, 05:29 AM
They also show subway stops and have an overlay of the streets. :)

jc37
January 22nd, 2006, 02:38 PM
The subways are clearly signposted, just know which train you want to take and whether you are going uptown or downtown. If you look at a subway map, you'll know which train you need to take, for example 456 run up and down on the east side, the E runs across midtown and down 8th ave. They are generally very safe at all times of day, however I wouldn't recommend taking them alone very late at night. As long as you are traveling with at least 1 other person, you will be absolutely fine. Good luck!

Ninjahedge
January 23rd, 2006, 09:44 AM
You can also try this GoogleMap/Subway overlay "hack" site:

http://www.onnyturf.com/subwaymap.php

It is pretty handy in that it shows you where the actual stations are in relation to a scaled map rather than the NYT's colorful schematic.... ;)

GINGER
January 23rd, 2006, 10:31 AM
Nice one Ninjahedge,looks a litlle clearer when shown like that,i'm pretty sure that once we've used the subway once it'll be easy!:o

GINGER
January 31st, 2006, 12:38 PM
Can you buy a five day subway ticket?If so what is the approximate cost??
Thanks.
Ginger

ZippyTheChimp
January 31st, 2006, 12:54 PM
Metro Card is the name of the NYC transit fare ticket.