PDA

View Full Version : Movin to New York, advice?

jsyn23
May 10th, 2006, 01:47 PM
Hi.

A friend and I have decided we want to live in New York. We are both tired of living in Louisiana. I know the cost of living there is higher. I was hopefully wanting to get transferred with my job. I am an assistant manager at a video store. Not your 6 digit salary. :(. We are room mates so we would have two incomes. I was curious.. What are some safe places to stay outside the city but close to it? Apartments are what we are looking for.. Anything for a 2 bedroom around 1500 - 2000/month? are is that way out of our league?

Thanks for all your support, and hopefully will be able to share the state with you one day! :)

ryan
May 10th, 2006, 02:42 PM
I think that's an entirely reasonable budget - you don't even have to go that expensive. Here's a listing in my neighborhood for $1250 (http://newyork.craigslist.org/brk/abo/159074955.html). There's too many cheap areas to live to direct you to without clarification. Everyone has an opinion about the best neighborhood to live in, so I'd suggest you read through the forums (especially moving to NYC) and ask more specific questions.

jsyn23
May 10th, 2006, 03:46 PM
Thank you for your reply.

I will continue to read through these boards and search for available apartments in the surrounding areas. I'll come back and ask a few more questions. Right now I didn't know if they had apartments that close to the city with a monthly rent of 1500.. Thanks!

Schadenfrau
May 10th, 2006, 03:57 PM
Keep in mind that the city includes five boroughs, not just Manhattan.

jsyn23
May 11th, 2006, 04:05 PM
Right:

Manhattan
Staten Island
Queens
Brooklyn
Bronx

Got it right?

ryan
May 11th, 2006, 04:16 PM
yes, and it's unlikely you'll find something that meets your criteria in Manhattan, so you might start with Brooklyn & Queens.

shocka
May 12th, 2006, 12:21 AM