PDA

View Full Version : wanna move eventually—need encouragement, if it's out there

moogyboy
June 27th, 2006, 04:45 PM
hey all

I've popped up a few times on here with various pairs of pennies, but now I'd like to tell you what's really on my mind. Basic story:

* 32 years old
* graphic designer by trade, but also generally into creative fields--interested in doing photography, film, music (in two bands right now, and also into recording), writing, etc.
* lifelong resident of an almost utterly boring Midwestern city, whose glory days are well in the past
* has lived in same neighborhood, in one of the two same houses on the same two streets, for entire life; parents still live a block away--we're talking major Greek ghetto life pattern here, except this is a residential area full of moronic clean-cut college kids near the state university, in aforementioned boring city
* living with wonderful girl from New Jersey who would like to go back east and would not like to go alone
* has dreamed of moving to NYC since college, for many reasons, but never did, mainly because of fear of the unknown, fear of homesickness, got jobs just in the nick of time, etc.
* now, at 32 with a steady job, bills, credit debt...afraid to—haunted by horror stories about ending up penniless in the big, bad, ultracompetitive, and uncaring City; worried about job prospects, whether own abilities are "enough", getting by...
* feels like time is slipping by and doesn't want to be 40 when he finally gets up the nerve to effin' move, which is stupid of course