Thread: Moving to NYC in January

Default Moving to NYC in January

Hello all, newbie here

I have been offered a job in New York to start in January 2009 but i have hit a brick wall when it comes to looking for an apartment.

I know its early to start looking but i just want to crunch the numbers!!

I have looked at various sites but cant seem to find anything.

What sites can you recommend???

My new job is as a trainee retail stock broker so i am not going to be on very good money to start with (i think about 300-400 dollars a week max).

Will i be able to find a cheap apartment that i wont have to worry about getting shot/mugged outside my front door and still have money left for food etc...

I have alot of money saved up but if i dont have to dip into that it would be preferable.

Also what areas would you recommend i look for apartments as i dont know NYC at all. Nearer to wall street the better really!!!

Any other suggestings on anything else you can think of would be appreciated!!

I am English but currently living in Switzerland and very much looking forward to living the American dream!!! LOL

Thanks alot
    SB

Crabby airline hostess - stache's Avatar

You should not accept this job unless they are willing to help you pay for housing. The pay rate is ridiculous.

Thanks for your reply, the ins and outs of the job offer have not been ironed out yet (all gets sorted in November) so defo will be asking for housing money.

I am just trying to get as much info as possible so that i know exactly what to try and get when it comes to the crunch time.

Any other words of advice that anyone can offer would be appreciated.

many thanks
    SB

Forum Veteran

yeah without housing that will be a tough job to achieve even 10 percent of the American dream

Build the Tower Verre antinimby's Avatar