Thread: need help with the stats

Default need help with the stats

I work in the oilfield now and am recently divorced. I am a truck driver with no kids. I want to move to NY in June of 09. I'll probably only have about 10,000.00 saved up. I don't have good credit because I stopped using it years ago. I will only have my clothes....NO car. Basically I want to know is this possible. I can work as a truck driver in NY somewhere..and will more than likely have a job doing so before I move there....hopefully. I want to do other things with my life career wise. And I still love the night-life. Is june too soon or can I make it work. I don't mind living with people...it will at least put me in a position to meet some "possible" friends. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Banned Member

Typically in the past, this would work - especially because you are willing to have roommates and be flexible. However, I think 2009 is going to be a terrible year to move to NY. I think we are going to see massive lay-offs in the first quarter of 2009 and maybe beyond. I don't want to dampen your enthusiasm, but I think you should read NYTimes.com regularly to keep up with the state of NY's economy for a while.

thanx alot friend....appreciate the help

Default need help with the stats

Quote Originally Posted by DawgDdogg View Post
    thanx alot friend....appreciate the help
    Thanks alot w freind. I also appreciate the help too.

To add to what's already been said, keep in mind also the unemployment rate in NYC is steadily rising. Currently it is at 6.7%

Build the Tower Verre antinimby's Avatar

Unemployment is up all across the country. The OP said he would have a job lined up when he moves here.

If that is the case and he can find accommodations, then I don't see why he shouldn't come. If you have an income and a place to stay, isn't that all one needs?