Thread: Moving to Brooklyn

Default Moving to Brooklyn

Hello!

So, my husband and I are moving to Brooklyn at the beginning of 2013 (seems like a lifetime!). I've been contemplating the move since 2006 - but instead joined the military. Now I'm sitting here waiting for my husband to finish his time in the military.

Our budget is quite high but let's be realistic... I don't want to pay 5,000 if I don't have to. I'm thinking 2,000-2,500 is sufficient for a 2 bedroom apartment. One bedroom is fine, but I'd prefer having a 2 bedroom so family members can crash there when the visit. The areas I've been looking at are Prospect Heights, Bay Ridge and Sunset Park. We're going to be attending Brooklyn College full time and my husband is worried about the long commute from those areas. I told him we could both get bycicles and we'd be fine. I've basically been basing the move on what have been labeled as "safe" areas - and coming from a small town with the majority of people being Amish - I'm as naive as they come.

So my questions are: how long would the commute be from each of those areas and is there a better neighborhood to move into that's closer than those?

Quote Originally Posted by sammijean06 View Post
    Hello!

So, my husband and I are moving to Brooklyn at the beginning of 2013 (seems like a lifetime!). I've been contemplating the move since 2006 - but instead joined the military. Now I'm sitting here waiting for my husband to finish his time in the military.