Thread: UES to EWR - Driving (Best Way)

Default UES to EWR - Driving (Best Way)

I live on the UES near 86th St. and I travel for a living. I used to travel from LGA, but that is no longer an option. It looks like the majority of the time, I'll be traveling from EWR...specifically from the South area (not the passenger terminals).

After two dry runs this week, I finally figured out I want to stay on 95S until exit 13A, which puts me very close to the South area. Mapquest, Yahoo!, etc. had me taking 95S to 78W and coming in from the North end of the airport. That was a mess.

My real question is whatís the best way (assuming the worst time of day) to get from the UES to Jersey?

So far Iíve tried 97th St across to the Henry Hudson to 42nd St. to 11th Ave to the 40th St. entrance of the Lincoln Tunnel. That was a nightmare. But not as bad as taking Park Ave down to the 40ís and trying to get cross-town there.

I feel like going up to the GW is probably best, but it just seems SO far out of the way.

And Iím reluctant to try the FDR down to Houston/Canal to the Holland Tunnel because the FDR can be a trap. As could be getting cross-town down there.

And then thereís always the Tri-Borough to the BQE to the Verrazano Bridge through Staten Island.

Obviously there are many options. Anyone want to suggest what they think is the best?

TIA.

Tipsy

Would you consider doing part of the trip using mass transit? From Manhattan, I have travelled to LGA,JFK, and EWR many times both by using mass transit and by driving, and can tell you for cost/reliability perspective, you can't beat it - this probably is only practical if you are travelling light..

I would recommend mass transit if possible.

Option 1: 6 train => E train => Airtrain at Penn Station
    Option 2: 4/5/6 train => N/R train => Airtrain at Penn Station
    Option 3: 4/5/6 train => Bus (coachusa.com) from Grand Central