Thread: i don't want to die young (or at all really) and live cheap

Default i don't want to die young (or at all really) and live cheap

there was another post about living in the "hood". i am NOT interested in that, but i am interested in living cheap. especially the LIVING part.
    my stats:

20 year old artsy female

i was raised in madison, wi and it's my first time living on my own (read naive, softy)

i want to live alone
    i am willing to sacrifice space and aesthetics for this

i'd prefer at least 600 square ft ( i'll compromise for location/safety)

oh, god! no, vermin if at all possible. rats, roaches forget it. though, i can deal with the others and can deal with any thing as long as it is not <i> inside </i>.

i can afford at the absolute, very most 1500 per month, but i'd prefer alot cheaper. no really, ALOT cheaper.

i'm coming to NY for excitement so i don't want to live in a boring, completely residential area.

also, i don't mind different lifestyles or ethnicites, but poor = crime and i like my brain inside my head and not splattered on a sidewalk.

priorities
    1. safety
    2.money
    3. entertainment

i've seen a lot of listings for washington/hamilton heights, inwood. should i be scared?

thanks!

i was being dramatic. i think you are being a little, too. it's difficult for me to believe that NY is so reformed that there aren't places that have frequent crime or a general aura of danger or at least seem unnerving on occassion; places that if you could avoid them you would. even dinky wisconsin's got places like that.

what areas should i stay away?
    where can i get the most safety for the least amount of money?
    can i walk around at night? with headphones on?
    can i give people eye contact?
    do i have to hold my my purse to my chest?
    am i going to hear police sirens daily/nightly?
    do the police even come?

Are those serious questions? It's not 1980 anymore.