Thread: 11 Broadway NYC - "Bowling Green Offices" - 1896 - By W.J. and G.A. Audsley

Default 11 Broadway NYC - "Bowling Green Offices" - 1896 - By W.J. and G.A. Audsley

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bowling+green11bway.jpg 
Views:	816 
Size:	110.3 KB 
ID:	16269

This is about 11 Broadway or the “Bowling Green Offices” first built in 1896. When it was first built, it was I believe listed as having the most office space of any building in the world. I am not sure about the height thing. There were a few other New York buildings competing in that league around that time.

The building was designed by two British and or Scottish Architects William J. and George A. Audsley, brothers. These two were of the last of the great self taught architects before the Brits and the Americans started to formally teach that subject and award degrees in the nineteenth century. They were on the crest of the wave of Gothic Revival in England. Many famous church and synagogue landmarks in England by these two architects still survive. They would seem to have followed the money back and forth across the Atlantic in terms of designing many churches, museums and one large New York office building. Their fame in the American side of the nineteenth century architecture equation is only just emerging to match that of their place in British history.

11 Broadway has a curious mix of styles. I have passed it and have thought it Egyptian in style. Many call it Neo-classical or over adorned (Victorian) classical Greek. It is not simple Greek in any case. It is probably the oldest building on Bowling Green, the oldest public space and or park in New York City.

I have seen this building in grainy silent film footage of crowds swarming the White Star’s New York Office in 1912 trying to get news of the Titanic Disaster. I have not been able to locate a still photo to illustrate this historic footnote.